Ummm B�RK B�RK B�RK!

2003-07-29

My mother is throwing a dinner party on Sunday for her friend and her friend's new Swedish husband.� Mom wants me to make Swedish food.� Swedish food is all well and fine if it's winter, but I really don't think that split pea and bacon soup followed by pickled herring and meatballs in sour cream really sounds all that appetizing in August.� Plus, it's not likely that I'll make things in an authentic manner (its not like I've ever been to Sweden, or know Swedish people, or even ever eaten in a Swedish restaurant).� So I'm not going to impress the Swede.� And the Americans are not going to like the Swedish food.� It's a lose/lose situation.

Aurgy Burg de Burgy Burgy.� Ummm BRK BRK BRK!

(that was my Swedish chef impersonation.)

Shut up, I'm tired.

She did just approve the menu, though, so I guess its not that much of a hassle.� I had tried to make this a tapas party, so I'm a little pleased that a Catalan dish made it through.

Cold Buffet:
Roasted Beet and Pickled Herring Salad with Mustard Buttermilk Dressing on Endive "Spoons" (Swedish)
Dill-Cured Pork Crostini with Sweet Mustard Sauce (Swedish)
Stuffed Tomatoes with Roasted Corn Salad

Swedish Cheese (if I can find it)

Warm Buffet:
Zucchini Blini with Basil/Chive Sour Cream
Smoked Salmon Croquettes
Grilled Bread with Catalan Butter (Anchovies, capers, olives and sun-dried tomatoes)

Lingonberry Poached Pears with Almond Cake (Swedish)


I pick up the Rendezvous tomorrow.� WOO HOO!� GETTIN A 'VOUS!

Tired, I tell you, I'm really tired.


Did I mention that the videographer that I had lined up backed out?� So I spent my lunch hour looking for one.� And I think I found one.� Guess who was in this company's list of clients??� Guess!

Nelly.

And you know how I love that Nelly.

Schei�e.� I need to go back to bed.

.�

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook