gay tv

2003-07-28

My weekend didn't exactly turn out as I had planned.

I went out after work with some work people.  I got cornered by the obnoxious and militantly Jewish woman, so we talked about Jewish law for 2 hours.  I steered her onto the subject of dietary law, so it wasn't that bad.  After dumping a large amount on nachos on my lap, I went home.  I ended up spending the evening with a bottle of chardonnay and I watched "Just Married" on PPV (it wasn't bad).

I have no idea what I did on Saturday, but I did manage to inadvertently dye my hair back to it's natural color (at least I think it's my natural color).  The box made the color look a lot lighter.  Oh well, I'll see how I like it.  At least I don't have to worry about roots.  I left the TV on all day while I was running around the house.  And I now have a new favorite TV show: Queer Eye for the Straight Guy!  This is the best "I wish I was a fag hag, but I just don't have the time" show on.

I've always loved the makeover-by-gay-men genre, including both the interior design and the fashion makeover subsets.  I used to go home on my lunch hours and watch Designer Guys, which I also like quit a bit.  They are far less catty than the Fab 5 or any of the people on Area.  On my favorite episode of Area, a designer walks into someone's house and says (in a really gay and snotty voice) "Oh my God.  I cannot believe that you have a treadmill in your living room!".  The home owner pointed out that he was in the family room.  The designer responded "that doesn't make it ok!".

So, after I got all hopped up on interior design TV, I decided to paint my bathroom.  I painted it a daring shade of medium gray.  I really like how it looks (I sure hope that Leo likes it too).


I had registered at Marshall Fields a couple of weeks ago.  I figured that it was where I was expected to register.  Then I found out that JC Penney's has the same china that I want at Field's, but it only costs $99 a setting as opposed to $149.  I went back and forth over whether or not I should register at Penny's instead (the wedding has turned into a big corporate Christmas party for my future father in law, I didn't want people that I don't know to think that a Penny's registry was somehow cheaper or trashier than Fields). 

So, I ordered a couple of place settings of china off of the Fields registry of my future sister in law.  That was three weeks ago.  There website says that it takes 4 - 10 weeks to order china!   They emailed me today to let me know that they were shipping some stuff.  Unfortunately, the email only included the sku numbers of the china, and I don't happen to have the MF stock database memorized yet.  So, I called them.  I was told that they only sent the quantities that they have in the warehouse and they will call around to stores to find the rest.  My first question is "why the hell did it take you THREE weeks to ship something you had in the warehouse?".  My second question is "why would I pay $70 for a plate that has been sitting out, getting manhandled by everyone in the MDA?"  Huh?  Riddle me that one, Marshall Fields customer service person!

So, I guess I'm giving my future brother and sister in law two and a half place settings for their wedding.    Maybe the missing plate and saucer will be found. 

Did I mention that Penny's ships china in two weeks?  Oh, and you can order it online while seeing a picture (MF only has their stupid sku numbers online).  Marshall Fields makes me angry.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook