all by my-se-e-elf...

2003-07-25

Leo has taken off to golf somewhere near Milwaukee this weekend.  This leaves me...alone.  I had tried to schedule some sort of trip, but nothing really worked out.  So, I will stay home.

Therefore... I have big plans for this weekend!  I want to organize our last unorganized bedroom.  This involves putting more and more things in the storage room (we don't have a basement).  So, I'll probably have to do something with that too.  And with the laundry room, which is ridiculously large.  I've also got to do something about our landscaping.

I'm also thinking I might use that chocolate tempering machine.  Or maybe I'll make some cheese.  I was rather inspired by an excellent article on milk in this month's Saveur.  You should really go out and buy it tout de suite.  Sure, my first attempt at cheese making was not so successful, but I won't give up (come to think of it, I do normally give up after one unsuccessful attempt, so this might be good for me).

I'm also thinking of trying out that 30 day cooking thing.  I'm thinking about making:

  • grilled chicken breasts (to go on top of the salads I bring to lunch every day)
  • vegetarian low-fat lasagna
  • avial...let me offer you a recipe!

Avial (coconut curry from Kerala)


Ingredients:

Sweet potato � 1 cup, diced
Turmeric - 1 tsp 
Ground red pepper - 2 tsp 
Salt - to taste 
Coconut oil, if you have it
Cumin seeds - 1 tsp 
Small onions � 4, diced
Green chilies - 4 
Ash gourd (or cucumber) diced � 2, cups diced
White brinjal ( or eggplant) � 3, diced
Carrot - 1 cup, diced 
Snake gourd (optional) - 1 cup, diced 
Drum stick - 2, cut to 2 inch pieces
      by these frozen in an Indian grocery.  The traditional way to eat them is to chew on them and then spit out the fibrous leftovers.  If that doesn�t sound good to you, you can pick them out before serving.  But they add a lot of flavor so it�d be a shame to leave them out.
unripe banana - 1 diced
green beans - 1/2 cup (dice if needed)
unripe (green) mango - 1/2 cup diced
Fresh coconut (not the sugar-added dried coconut) � 1 cup grated
1 can low fat coconut milk
 Curry leaves (NOT CURRY POWDER) - 2 sprigs 
    You can buy these fresh and store them in the freezer, they last forever.


Boil the sweet potato until almost tender.  Cook the turmeric, ground red pepper, salt and 1 tbsp coconut oil (if you have it, veg. oil if you don�t) in a large skillet until fragrant.  Grind the cumin seeds, small onions, green chilies, raw mango and coconut with a little turmeric in a food processor until it makes a coarse paste.  Add the remaining vegetables and the coconut milk to the skillet and cook over medium.  When the vegetables are cooked, mix with a spoon and check the consistency. If there is too much liquid, cook uncovered on high until the mix comes to a custard-like consistency. Add the sweet potato.  Lower the heat and add the ground paste and mix well. Let it cook for 2 minutes. Now add the curry leaves and mix well. Switch off the heat and keep covered on the hot stove. The curry has to sit for at least half an hour before freezing or eating.

I have absolutely no idea how this will hold up to freezing, I�ll let you know.

BTW, we signed the papers on a Buick rendezvous.  SUV-hood, here I come.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook