Is there a priest in the house?

2003-07-23

Slim fast is just a bad idea all over, isn't it?� I mean, I think there is a good chance that anyone who is overweight may have food and nutritional issues.� So going on a diet where you eat nothing but milkshakes, ice cream and candy "meal replacement" bars doesn't sound so hot.� It doesn't build good eating habits.� And any diet that doesn't contain a good deal of vegetables (and, yes, I am talking to you Dr. Atkin) is not a good idea.

So it's kind of funny that I am now addicted to slim fast "snack options" chocolate and peanut butter crunch bars.� I didn't do it on purpose.� I bought them for Leo.� Leo is both fat-phobic and extremely set in his eating ways.� So when the store was out of the chocolate and� peanut butter chewy granola bars, I thought I was in trouble.� Leo eats a lot (he burns over 600 calories every night on the treadmill) so I need lots of "low fat filler" for his lunches.�

I put one in my lunch instead of his by mistake the other day.� They rock (in a completely non-healthy candy bar sort of way)!� They tastes just like a butterfinger, but they only have 130 calories a bar (because they are half the size of a butterfinger).� A granola bar only has 130 calories too, and these are way better than granola bars.� I suppose that the savvy shopper might just buy a bag of butterfinger minis.� I'm sure that two must be equal, both caloricaly and in nutrition, to a slim fast bar.� Plus, I wouldn't have to be so sneaky about eating them.


We met with the priest.� He can't marry us at the school that Leo's mom wants us to be married at because he needs to be at confession.� My priest is hard of hearing, I left him a message, but I'm not sure if he could understand it.� But, gee, it sure was fun to be yelling into the phone at work about how I need someone to marry us.� The school has recommended another priest, but he is on sabbatical until next week.� We have the church in Dearborn booked, just in case, so it's not all that bad.� I'd rather get married at the school, though, because:

  • the school has reliable heating, whereas the 100 year old church is pretty darned cold
  • we can get married at the school at 4pm, but 2pm is the latest at the church (because of the 3:30 confession).� Plus we'd only have half an hour for pictures before we had to clear out for confession.� And then there'd be a big awkward pause between events.
  • To go from the church to the reception site, you have to drive down some of Detroit's sketchiest highways and byways (Schaefer from Warren to I-96, for example).� From the school, it's a much nicer (and easier) drive.
  • It would make Leo's mom happy.

I bet I could get a deacon, but I'm holding out for a priest.� Leo's grandma would be much happier if we had a full mass.� And so would I, quite frankly.

So, I'm sure you needed to see a bulleted argument for the school over the church.�

It's good for me to scope this out, though.� I've been so crazy busy at work that I haven't really had a chance to think about it.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook