70 ounces of feta

2003-06-19

Well....the campers started.  I don't know why we were told that they wouldn't have any computer skills.  They do.  I had assumed that they would all want to go into IT.  But none of them do.  So, I asked them what they did want to do.  One wants to be a surgeon, one an FBI agent, and the third one either a hairdresser or a day care worker. 

It made me think of when, when asked "what do you want to be when you grow up", I had no running scale of education requirements or salaries.  It's really too bad that all that stuff plays such a heavy role in my career path now.  For example, if I went to school full time for the next two years for culinary school, I would probably make $8 an hour upon graduation.

Unfortunately, it all boils down to Cope's Law of Survival of the Unspecialized.  I suppose that, to be truly applied to humanity, it should be the Law of Survival of the Multi-specialized or something because the truly unspecialized don't get ahead either.  I guess that doesn't always hold true either.  My father has a JD, MBA, and an engineering degree and he never really got ahead.  Well, there goes my career as a sociological theorist.


And speaking of careers...

My grocery list has such things on it as:

  • 140 cherry tomatoes
  • 70 ounces of feta
  • 5 pounds of bacon

I am shopping for my first *paying* catering job in a few years (I think the last one was the Christmas of 1996!).  Luckily, I am only making three things.  But, I am going to make 140 pieces of each of the three.  I'm sure it will be fine.  Plus, the party is being given by Shannon's mom, so I'm sure it will be fine.


I gave myself highlights last weekend.  They look ok most places, but the fluorescent lights at school make me look like Cyndi Lauper circa 1984.


My Spanish final is on Monday.  I am SO GLAD that I am not taking anything next semester.  I haven't had a break from school since the summer of 2000.  I'll pick it back up in the fall.  But July and August ARE MINE!


One of the managers bought us all pizza because we will launch a plant a week from Saturday (actually, THEY will launch a plant, I will be drinking sangria).  I had two slices of "meat lovers" because it was the only kind without green peppers.  Then I looked up how many calories where in a slice of "meat lovers" pizza. 

Looks like I won't be eating again this week.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook