damn, damn damn, damn, damn!

2003-06-12

I just called the travel agency to change our plane tickets from Detroit-London-Barcelona to Detroit-London-Dublin.  Sounds easy, right?

Wrong.  We cannot change the outbound flight at all. If we simply get off of the plane in London and buy a ticket to Ireland, they will cancel our return ticket. We could take the Detroit - London leg, and then speak to the folks at airline counter about changing our flight to Dublin once we are in London, but we can't do it before. And I can't say as I am particularly thrilled about flying to a foreign county and hoping for the best.  Plus, Leo wants to change part of his ticket so he can work more.  Of course, that is impossible too.  We could just get a flight from Barcelona to Dublin, but it will cost $800 plus it would route us through another city (five cities in one flight is three too many).

Our options at this point:

  • Fly Detroit - London, get off the plane and hope for the best
  • Go to Spain as planned and deal with it
  • Just stay home and kiss our $1200 goodbye

This really, really sucks because we will be hosting a 150+ person wedding in less than six months.  Unfortunately, we are not independently wealthy.  And we can't afford any of the options above.


In other sucky news, the project management software that I wrote and supported for the last three years is going to go away.  They want to replace it with some other software that someone else wrote within the company.  The main driving force behind it is a so-called "friend" of mine.  She hates my boss so much that she no longer wants to deal with him.  Therefore, she wants to change the software.  She claims that the other one is better, but when pressed, all she could tell me is that the other one has better colors. 

So...I am scared that I will be laid off.  That isn't likely, but the chance of it happening really grew with the demise of my system.  I do have another system that I am taking over.  This one creates quotes for new business.  If there is a single logic mistake in it, it could cost the company millions.  I am not looking forward to being responsible for this. 

My big argument for keeping my system is that the technology that the other is written in (java server pages) is not standard in our company.  Well, now I just found out that it is becoming standard.  And I don't know it at all.  And I don't want to learn it because, when it comes down to it, I hate programming.  And I hate my job.  And I won't be taking a vacation this summer because we got screwed over.  And I was all nice and understanding at the beginning, but now I am pissed off.

 

 

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook