oy vey!

2003-06-10

My father, who is "um....busy" on the day of my wedding, is coming back to Detroit for the F0RD 100th Anniversary this weekend.  Keep in mind that this is the company that forced him into retirement after 29.5 years of service so they could save money on his pension.  He told me that he was free from 12 - 6 on Sunday (he is here for a week).  I figured that he might want to meet Leo's family.  You see, if I didn't offer to introduce him, I would get an angry phone call (five years from now) about how I destroyed his life by not making the offer.  So, I set something up for 4.  As you may have already noted, 4 is clearly within the 12 - 6 parameters. 

So I just called to make sure that we were square on the plans.  Oh, btw, his idiotic Roger-Daltry-the-Hutt wife is unavailable on Sunday and will not be joining us.  She will be too busy creating voodoo dolls of my sister and I.  So, anyway, I just called them to let them know the plan.  It seems that my father is now busy, you guessed it, right at 4 pm.  So now I get to tell the Gibson's that my father, who is in town for a whole stupid week (and this is Detroit, its not like there is that much to do), cannot spare an hour to meet them and is also not coming to the wedding.  Have I mentioned that he is RETIRED?  WHAT THE HELL DO RETIRED PEOPLE HAVE TO DO???

In addition RDTH's son (affectionately known as "the knuckle dragger") needs to get the air conditioners out of my basement.  I have had offers of cash (which is in rather short supply around here) but I feel I need to give them - gratis - to knuckle dragger in order to avoid another psycho delayed phone call.  But they are taking up valuable cooking supply storage space, so they need to go NOW!

Just to throw salt in my wounds, I just got a corporation wide email stating that F0RD will be taking over our parking lot, both during and after business hours.  We have about 1 extra parking spot right now, and it is shared between all 5000 people that work in this campus.  Because they have also co-opted every other parking lot in the Metro Detroit Area, I'll probably have to park in Canada and swim to work.  Thank you very much, Billy Junior. 


In other news...the new potato sandwich bread I bought at Trader Joe's is the same pale yellow as my kitchen sponge.  I opened my lunch and thought that it actually was my kitchen sponge in a small plastic bag.

I have designed a complete Access database (hey, I'd take it to Oracle if I could afford it) for my wedding.  It has budget (including my run rate and estimates), catering selections, addresses, etc. in it.  My mother actually rolled her eyes and asked if I was going to give each person a three digit code (ok, she asked via email, but I could tell that she rolled her eyes).  This is who I am.  I can't help it.


It looks like we will not be going to Spain.  Without a free cruise, we can't really afford a big European vacation a few months before our wedding.  We are stuck with British Airways plane tickets, though.  We want to go to Belize (formerly British Honduras) on our honeymoon, but they don't even fly there!  Oh well, I bet we have a year or two to use them, maybe we will go somewhere next year.


Last thing - I read an article yesterday that suggested brides dye the water in the toilets at the reception site to match their wedding colors.  Please take a moment to visualize.....Red and green toilet water!

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook