gazpacho is a dish best served cold

2003-06-09

I went nuts at the vegetable market on Friday.� The temperature may never rise above 68 degrees, but the produce knows that its summer.� When I got home, I made approximately 5,230 servings of gazpacho.� I think that we will be eating it for the rest of our lives.� But it is tasty and healthy, so I guess that's ok.


We had a lovely engagement anniversary dinner with Leo's little sister, Davidde and his girlfriend.� She said that I remind her of Joan Cusack (which was a direct hit upon my secret fear of always being a 2-bit character actress in other people's lives while never having a staring role to call my own).� She seemed to have meant it in a nice way, so I will get past it.�

Every time we baby-sit, Leo's parents come home around midnight.��� There was a time when we could also stay up until midnight.� But that was a long time ago.� A long, long time ago.� And now staying awake past nine is a big deal.� First, Leo took off to sleep in another room around 9.� I stayed in the family room until about ten thirty and then I slept in the office.� Maggie was, of course, having no trouble staying awake.� Plus, she was watching the third Austin Powers movie, which is about the most disgusting piece of trash I have ever seen.� I rented it when it came out.� We turned it off after 15 minutes.� It is really, really gross and it isn't even funny.�

Anyway, I wouldn't feel so bad about needing to sleep if it wasn't for Leo's parents being able to stay up.� Not only where we dead tired at night, we were exhausted all of Sunday too.� We will have to begin some sort of "staying up late" training before the wedding.


We still have no idea what we are doing or where we are going (or even when, exactly we are going to go) on our vacation in two weeks.� We might just get off the plane in London and fly to see Shannon (hey Shannon, btw we may be coming to see you.� You should really check your email).� Or we might still do Spain.� And we might change the dates of the tickets.� We might even come back early to go to Regan's wedding.� Or maybe we will cancel the whole darn thing.�


Last thing - I am actually catering a party (for money!) in two weeks.� Sure, it's a party that's being thrown by Shannon's mom, so it's not like someone looked me up in the phone book under "catering" or anything, but it is a landmark in my career transition.� My mom wants me to cater a party too, but she's my mom so that probably doesn't� count.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook