weddings, cross dressing, and my company's secret plot to kill us

2003-06-06

For some reason, I got to talking with the lady I work with (I used to call her my partner but my mom says that makes me sound gay) about marriages.  When she was married, her mother in law forbid her to see her parents for the first five years (she's Indian, apparently this was a common practice in India).  Worse than that, her mother in law was married at the age of 9 (although she didn't live with her spouse until she was 13). 

I have thought for some time about how much better off we would be if we still had arranged marriages (not at the age of nine, though).  It seems that we spend so much time and energy on dating.  And what for?  I feel quite sure that if my parents had picked out a spouse for me, he would have been a heck of a lot better than the one I picked for myself at the age of 23.   Oh well, I guess it worked out ok in the end.


AND SPEAKING OF THAT...we will have been engaged for ONE YEAR on Monday, June 9.  We were going to do something special on Saturday, but I volunteered to baby sit Leo's youngest sister (if his mom asks me for something, I am so eager for her to like me that I always say yes) so we will probably end up having a romantic meal of pizza and spend the evening watching Nickelodeon.  Which is fine.  In fact, I think Leo was almost relieved that I screwed it up before he could!


I work with a guy who got married at Disney World.  At the end of the ceremony, white doves were released.  The release happened every day at the same time for several years.  I guess the local hawks learned this routine and would wait above the ceremony to kill the doves and eat them. 
So, not only was the dove release beautiful, but it had a lot of symbolism to boot.


I have a nasty little secret to admit:  I've started cross dressing.  It all started one day when I mistakenly put Leo's pants on.  I was amazed that they fit, because I am four inches shorter and more than a few pounds heavier than Leo.  But they fit like they were tailored for me.  The best part is that they are long enough.  Regular women's pants are always about half an inch too short. 

Also, all of his pants are machine washable and the colors never fade.  My biggest problem is finding a reliable pair of black pants.  If you buy cotton pants, they fade to gray after the first washing (even if you wash them in ice water and skip the dryer).  Wool pants are fine, but they require dry cleaning and are uncomfortable in the summer. 

It seems like most of the black pants in the stores now are polyester.  I went to Marshall Fields recently and all of the black pants were polyester (with that really obviously polyester "sparkle") and they wanted $90 a pair for them!  Not to sound like my mother, but there is no way on God's green earth that I would pay $90 for a pair of polyester pants. 

Right now I am wearing a pair of Leo's black pants.  They are polyester/rayon but they look like natural fibers.  And they are perfectly black.  And they have gigantic pockets.  But not the kind of pockets that make a person look fat.  These are non-bulky pockets.

So here's the plan:  someone needs to get rich selling men's pants to women.  If rough and sparkly polyester pants sell for $90, imagine how much you could charge for these!  Plus, they are machine washable.  And they have pockets.  And they don't fade.  Why have we been putting up with substandard pants this whole time?  It's time for a change ladies...and a walk on the wild side (if anything involving a pair of Dockers can be considered "wild").

 

 

My company's cafeteria menu, proof that they are all trying to give the employees heart attacks to save on pensions.

Also, if you understand the meaning or the grammar behind "Food is: Fashion and Fun Specialties", let me know.
 

Monday
Breakfast
Biscuits and Gravy $1.25

 

Kettle Creations
Cream of Potato
Italian Meatball

Homemade Specialties
Chicken Dijon with Roasted Potatoes, Vegetable and Dinner Roll $4.25

Food is: Fashion and Fun Specialties
Italian Club Wrap with a Bag of Chips and a 16 oz Fountain Soda $4.50

Grill 'em Of The Day
Country Fried Fish Sandwich with Fries $3.49

Tuesday
Breakfast
Sausage and Cheese Omelet $2.65

Kettle Creations
Split Pea with Ham
Chicken Gumbo

Homemade Specialties
Carved Roast Beef with Mashed Potatoes, Gravy, Vegetable and Dinner Roll $4.25

Food is: Fashion and Fun Specialties
Baked Potato Bar $2.40 to $3.60

Grill 'em Of The Day
Gyros on Pita Breas with Waffle Fries $3.85

Wednesday
Breakfast
English Muffin Sandwich $1.60 to $1.90

Kettle Creations
Chicken Noodle
Egg Drop

Homemade Specialties
Lemon Chicken Piccata with Rice Pilaf, Vegetable and Dinner Roll $4.50

Food is: Fashion and Fun Specialties
Ham and Cheese or Spinach Quiche with a Cup of Soup or Vegetable $3.59

Grill 'em Of The Day
Lone Star Burger with Steak Fries  $3.59 

Thursday
Breakfast
Strawberry Pancakes $.75 each

Kettle Creations
Minestrone
Cream of Broccoli

Homemade Specialties
Beef Mostacolli with Vegetable and Dinner Roll $4.25

Food is: Fashion and Fun Specialties
Oriental Chicken Pita with a Side Salad and 16 oz Soda $4.50

Grill 'em Of The Day
Turkey Burger with Curly Fries $3.59

Friday
Breakfast
Breakfast Burrito
$1.60 to $1.90

Kettle Creations
Turkey Tortilla
Harvest Chowder

Homemade Specialties
Hand Dipped Fried Perch with Two Sides and a Dinner Roll $5.25

Food is: Fashion and Fun Specialties
Honey Mustard Chicken Salad with a Dinner Roll $4.25

Grill 'em Of The Day
Monte Cristo Sandwich with Fries $3.59

 

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook