tempus fugit

2003-05-23

My latest neurotic obsession is the Leo's family hates me.  I've never thought they would be crazy about me (and our living together certainly doesn't help) but now it is becoming more obvious.  Also, I am childishly comparing myself to Leo's brother's fianc�e and how the family treats her.  I know that sounds so stupid, but it is fairly easy to slip into the habit, especially since their engagement came only a few months after ours.  I know it sounds so silly.  But family is really important to me.  I have such a small family and his large family makes me uneasy to begin with.  At least I'm good at mentally blocking out unpleasant things.  I'll have to set to work doing just that.

This weekend, I am catering a vegetarian bridal shower for 26.  At my house.  The house at which I spend all of 2 waking hours a week.  The house I need to vacuum.  The house with the sinkfull of dirty dishes.  Yikes.  Leo and I were thinking about going somewhere for the long weekend and I am so glad that we decided not to.  I really just want to stay home and organize things.  Even though we are all unpacked, we aren't quite organized.  For example, Leo took all of the boxes that he unpacked and put them in a storage room.  So now we have a storage room completely full of empty, assembled boxes.  I can't imagine a situation in which we would need them.  Unless he is trying to tell me something...

The word has gotten out at our Mexican locations that I am taking Spanish.  So the folks I work with think it is hilarious to try to speak to me in Spanish.  I keep telling them that I can only understand things like "how are you" and "what is your name?" (and then, I can only understand it if the speakers goes very slowly) but they still like to call up, and speak to me in rapid Spanish about IT problems.  I suppose this all stems from my company forcing them to speak English to the folks at HQ at all times.  And now they have an opportunity for turnabout.  At least someone is amused.

I can't believe that we will be on vacation in a month.  Time flies.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook