Drone

2003-05-15

I can't believe how busy I've been at work!

I was officially labeled "high potential" by management this week (anyone who knows me will collapse into a fit of giggles at this). I get a special folder in a special file of the chosen few at HQ. Since this happened, I've come to the conclusion that it is just some sort of ploy to make me work harder because I'm to think that I'm going somewhere.

I had a long meeting this morning with the mainframe group. I've never worked with a mainframe before (I'm too young) so it was interesting to see them and their operation. It really highlighted the differences in the social groups within IT. I mostly work with new technologies and web-based things. This means that I work mostly with twenty-something's. I also do a lot for our ERP groups (you don't actually want to know what ERP stands for, so I won't tell you). They are more middle aged. The mainframe group is old. It made me wonder if the people are around to support the software or vice versa, mostly because - if these people quit - I don't know where we'd find people to replace them.

Not so long ago (fall semester 2002), I took a COBOL class. I took it mostly because it was the only thing that fit into my schedule. No one has developed new things in COBOL for around fifteen years. It was interesting to see what programming was like then (like taking middle English for an English major). I don't think that anyone really does it for a living, though, if they weren't around for the COBOL heyday. So they are old. And change resistant. Which makes my job hard.

The head of the group asked me if there was any way that I could "beam my monitor onto a wall or something for the meeting". I said yes, I'd use a projector. They just didn't get the new systems I was showing them. I can tell that this will turn into a major project. I suppose that I should keep in mind that, in thirty years, I will be like those people. And then the youngins will roll there eyes if I ask a question about projecting live holograms from Tokyo or something.

Sorry that this was totally uninteresting. I'm not having a very interesting week. I did get a chance to buy some white girl pantyhose today. For some reason I can't find them in Southfield. Now THAT is interesting!

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook