the sleeves of freedom

2003-05-12


Dante's action shot of me grilling
(with Sarah and Jeremy in the background)

When I graduated with a bachelor's degree, it was quite emotional.  My class was made up of returning adult students who never really thought that they would graduate.  Some of then were old enough to be grandparents and many were the first in their families to have a college degree.  That made the ceremony quite special.

This last graduation was somewhat less special.  We all fully expected to graduate.  And we did. 

I do think that I lost about ten pounds in water weight during the ceremony.  The indoor stadium was not air conditioned and the gown was basically made of plastic.  Plus I had to wear a velvet hood and, of course, the hat.  It was way too hot.


I spent part of Sunday looking for bridesmaid's gown with my sister and Leo's little sister.  I think there must be a law against selling formal dresses that have sleeves.  If I were a bridesmaid, I would require sleeves (witness my gigantically fat arms above), especially for an event at the end of December in Detroit!  It is likely to be 2 degrees out.  You can't expect women to run around half-clothed in that temperature.  The shoe selection is no better.  All formal shoes are high-heeled sandals (better to wear to trudge through drifts of snow). 

I cannot believe that the purchasing power of women has dictated this look in formal wear.  Seeing as the US has one, or maybe two major cities located far enough south to allow this apparel year round, I can't believe that this is what women are looking for.  Not even Jennifer Lopez could purchase enough dresses to influence the total lack of responsible formal wear.  So, what gives?

Well, here are my thoughts.  You know how some North African countries use black bourkas to keep women inside the house (because it is too hot to wear them outside for long)?  Well, this is the opposite.  This is the bridal industry trying to keep my sistahs down (or, at least, indoors).  And I plan to make a stand against their tulle-toting tyranny.  Clothe yourselves in sleeves of freedom, ladies, liberation is at hand!

 

 

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook