plea for help

2003-04-24

So....I think I failed my final.� For real.� It's really no wonder as I didn't study.� So I don't know if I will graduate.� But I don't want to think about it anymore.

Instead, I want to think about my upcoming ghetto wedding.� I have set a budget of $2500, which is about $2500 more than I can afford to spend.� Clearly, I need to befriend a group of creative gay men who are good at floristry, hair & makeup, and crafting.

Leo's brother is getting married in August.� They have invited my family, so I guess I have to invite all of the family's of Leo's various in-laws.� Thank goodness I don't have many relatives!

Any ideas?

CEREMONY 
Actual
OFFICIANT FEE/DONATION 100.00   Don't think there is any way around it
RECEPTION 
Actual
FOOD & SERVICE 10.00 x 120 guests (1200)  Leo's family is springing for the booze, so I can afford to get y'all some triskets and spray cheese
Costco Cupcakes 80.00   Costco cupcakes in the shape of a wedding cake!
ATTIRE 
Actual
I already have the dress ($50), the veil ($10) so I just need shoes 20.00   Payless?  Unless my mom can find my sister's bridal shoes.
FLOWERS & DECORATIONS 
Actual
BRIDE'S BOUQUET 20.00   I was going to make something out of wire and sparkly crystals (I know that sounds horrible but it was really pretty when I saw it in the store) or I could carry a single flower (carnation?)
BRIDESMAID BOUQUETS 10.00   Do you think they could carry candles?  I guess that would look stupid at noon.  
GROOM & GROOMSMEN BOUTONNIERES (EACH) 5.00   Any volunteers to make boutonnieres?  
FLOWER GIRL'S FLOWERS 3.00   potpourri?
ADDITIONAL BOUTONNIERES/CORSAGES 25.00   Parents, etc.  I don't want to give my mom ghetto flowers, but I am not beyond giving the groom some.
RECEPTION DECORATIONS/CENTERPIECES 50.00   Floating candles in donated bowls.  No ceremony decorations
MUSIC 
None, too expensive Actual Jeremy, do you think you could play something during the ceremony?  Harpists are traditional, so why not an auto-harp?
PHOTOGRAPHY 
I'm guessing� Actual
PHOTOGRAPHER'S FEE 500.00   Must have professional photos.  I feel very strongly about this.  If it requires me to sell an internal organ, than I will.
STATIONERY 
Actual Would it be tacky if I used a website for RSVPs, wedding and reception maps and more information?
INVITATIONS & REPLY CARDS (MAPS, OTHER INSERTS, CALLIGRAPHY COSTS, ETC.) (EACH) 0.32   I already bought some invitations on clearance at a craft store.  I'll just run them through my printer and affix one stamp (assuming I go with the website idea).  
Unless I use evite�
WEDDING RINGS 
Can't afford 'em, we'll get them later Actual  
TRANSPORTATION & LODGING 
School bus! Actual
GUEST SHUTTLE/PARKING 300.00   The reception will be at the Golf Club, which is very hard to find and is located in a part of Detroit that most people will be unfamiliar with.  If I don't spring for a shuttle, I'll loose relatives .  I can't afford a shuttle bus, but school buses cost less.
GIFTS FOR ATTENDANTS
My gratitude.  Price? $0 Actual Maybe I could make something?
TOTAL COST OF WEDDING
Subtotal   2381.40   
Tips, Taxes, Overages, and Marriage License (6.5% of budget)   162.50   
Total Spent   2543.90   
Your Budget   2500.00   
Amount Over Budget   43.90  

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook