adventures in babysitting

2003-02-28

I watched Leo's 11 year old sister twice this week. I figure that this is a good way to butter up the future grandparents and make them feel as if they are in my debt as far as babysitting goes, plus I thought it might actually force me into studying for my midterm (I was wrong on the second point). All this was helped by the fact that the 11 year old in question generally acts more mature than I do, so it was not a big deal at all.

Tuesday night went off without a hitch. We made pizza from scratch. It's been my experience that all kids like working with bread dough and eating pizza, that held true in this test. Leo was able to join us when he was done with work (9pm) and all was well.

I went back for round two last night. We ate at the Hunt Club, I'd never been there before. There was a lone old man in the dining room, us and the Fieger
family.� I was seated directly facing old Geoff.� If you thought his hair was bad in pictures, you haven't seen the man close up.� It's as if his hair, clothing, etc are from the "white trash" section of a costume shop.� As if the hair wasn't enough (the very apex of mulletude), his sweater was pill covered acrylic and his jeans were acid washed.� I kept expecting Emme from Fashion Emergency to walk in and take charge, but it never happened.

After that, we went back and watched TV.� I was a little nervous as I don't know what the TV rules are in the house and I am scared to death of pissing off Leo's parents.� I breathed a sigh of relief when she stopped the channel switching on HGTV.� It was some sort of kitchen design show where the home owners choose the design they like best.� In this case, the home owners were two middle aged men with overly fashionable glasses.�

Then she asks "do you think they are father and son?"

Shit!� I don't know what to say.� If she doesn't know that they are gay, I am sure as hell not going to be the one to tell her.� I have visions of Leo's parents coming home and saying "we left you along with her for one night and you talk about this?!!!?".�

I mumbled "I dunno..."

Then I focused all of my mental energy on willing her not to ask anything else.� I was apparently successful, as we watched the end of the program (with the "father and son" holding hands) without incident.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook