piece of cookie?

2003-02-20

It just figures that my last two classes are both being taught by the worst professors I've had.  One is bad due to inexperience, which I can (almost) forgive.  The other one is just plain annoying.

The class is called something like "Database Systems".  All of the other classes in the program are high-level theory classes.  He is running his class like it's a community college class in SQL.  Imagine...we have to learn skills instead of just talking about it!  I think this really pisses me off because I've gotten good at the school "game" by this point.  I can right a theory paper on anything.  I can quote thousands of ISO and IEEE standards.  But real skills that may be applied in the real world?  uh-uh.

After eight solid hours of programming at work, I have to go to this class for 3 hours to hear about...more programming.  The kicker about this guy is that he ends almost every sentence with "piece of cookie?".  It is always phrased as a question, as if you were just about to say:

By jove,

create view vutilation
as
select
vemptime.employeename,
vemptime.department,
vemptime.edate,
vemptime.timeworked,
actionsworked=sum(isnull(vempacttime.timeworked,0))
from
vempacttime, vemptime
where

DATEPART(dayofyear, vemptime.edate) *= DATEPART(dayofyear, vempacttime.datecomplete)
and DATEPART(year, vemptime.edate) *= DATEPART(year, vempacttime.datecomplete)
and vemptime.employeename *= vempacttime.completedby

group by vemptime.employeename, vemptime.department, vemptime.edate,
vemptime.timeworked

is indeed a piece of cookie!

What the hell is a piece of cookie anyway?  Does he mean cake?

In addition to my cookie induced class frustrations is the fact that - in a graduate computer science class of 40 - I am the only person with any programming experience.  Plus, I am the only person who speaks English with any degree of fluency in the whole program, but that's another story.  So, when we have to go to the lab and hand in compilable code, who does he expect to help the 20 history majors from China?  Me.  Last time I checked, cookie man was the one being paid to teach the class.  Plus, the Chinese history majors should have thought about that when they were picking out their undergrad major. 

This semester is likely to leave a bitter taste in my mouth when it comes to school.  It can't be over soon enough.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook