the Owen curse

2003-02-10

During a birthday dinner at Leo's parents house, we learned that the "Owen curse" does not, in fact, apply to him.

Leo has been under the impression, for many, many years, that he is obligated by family tradition to name his first born son Owen. This was told to him by (I believe) his great grandfather. Somehow this topic came up last night and his grandparents corrected him that it was actually his brother Michael who has to name his first born Owen. Now those of you who know Leo's family may be wondering how Michael senior managed to have a Michael junior but then Michael junior has to have an Owen. The answer is, well, I don't know. Things are so much simpler in British Protestant families because there are only a handful of members to keep track of. All I know for sure is that I really don't want to have a son named Owen.

Wednesday cannot come quickly enough. It is snowing right now. I can't wait to be in Florida. BTW, I was informed that we will not, in fact, be going to the Hoopdidoo. Another time, perhaps.

I had a lovely time at Leo's birthday party on Friday. A friend suggested that I have a wedding the weekend before Christmas. I really like this idea. The church and reception place are likely to already be decorated. I am worried that they will be booked by the time I am free to plan (everyone - give a prayerful shout out to John Paul right now).

My boss is irritating me, my coworkers are irritating me, the system users are irritating me�..48 hours until I am lying on a beach drinking a daiquiri.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook