cutey-suity is a BIG BITCH!

2003-01-10

The is an indirect relationship in this company, at least for women, between how nice one dresses and her importance in the company. This is most evident at the administrative assistant level. All admins, at least in this building, wear cute little Ally McBeal suits with short skirts every day. Female directors (they are the top women, because there are no female vp's, presidents, etc.) wear dumpy chinos and wrinkled polo shirts. I try to land somewhere in between, in order to balance the need to look presentable with the need to not be mistaken as an admin.

I suppose that it isn't very accurate to portray admins as having little power. The division president's admin definitely out ranks schmos like me.

Every year, we get re-organized. Every year we flip-flop between corporate and a division. We were in a division last year, now we are corporate. So we no longer can make use of cutey-suity the admin. We've hired a couple of people and I was charged with getting them name plates (I have a great job, what can I say?). I tried going through building maintenance and I got a really cheap, 1970's executive name plate that doesn't match the rest. So I asked cutey-suity who her vendor is for name plates and� she refused to tell me! I mean, I asked her "so... you refuse to tell me the name of the company?" and she said yes.

I do so much for this woman (mostly because I am afraid of her, more than because I actually want to help her). I have half a mind to withhold IT support from her (but then again, I really am scared of her, she's mean). Either way, you better believe that I will get those name plates in the end. And then she'll see! Bitch!

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook