like Roots...only much shorter

2002-12-30


This is my great-grandparents' drug store in Carbondale, IL�

�����������
my grandmother with her pet chicken...and later with my uncle and mother



This is one of my favorite photos ever.� My wacked-out, religious healing, holy roller uncle is riding a�stuffed zebra, my grandfather looks drunk, my mother is dying of teenage embarrassment and my grandmother still looks glamorous.

My grandfather with a post-gubernatorial, pre-presidential Reagan.
Please note that my grandfather is not only wearing a plaid blazer, but also a striped shirt and bolo tie.

That's right, folks!� Grandpa made the cover of Petfood Industry magazine!

I find it very disturbing how much Leo and I look like my parents in this shot.��
I also find it disturbing that they were apparently sharing a salad.

My maternal grandmother (in gold) was always so glamorous, so I just can't believe what she wore to my parents wedding.� It looks like an anemone is trying to eat her head.

This is a family classic, Schwester and Mr. Pookums.�
I have cropped this so you can't see her gigantic baseball socks.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook