ten years is a long time to remember someone

2002-12-17

At my five year reunion, a vaguely familiar woman came up to me and began talking. Twenty seconds into the conversation, she demanded to know if I remembered her. I said that I did and she demanded that I say her name. I had no idea what her name was then. I had no idea what her name was when she demanded the same thing of me today, in the break room, five years later. Luckily, she was wearing her company badge, so I just grabbed it and read it. Then I said "sure" in a way that I hoped made it sound like I knew her name all along, I just needed confirmation. Unfortunately for me, she's gotten married and changed her name, which made me look like even more of an ass.

I'm a little at a disadvantage here as I was much easier to remember than most people. There weren't too many girls in high school with a mostly shaved head. The unknown lady asked me "if I'm still as wicked as I was in high school". I just kind of smiled. The punch line is that I am dressed like a cross between Laura Ingalls and Laura Bush, and my hair is no-holds-barred Anne Frank. Can one be "wicked" in pumps?

She's in a meeting in the board room by my office. She wants to go out for a drink later. Maybe I can fake an illness and escape.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook