poor me

2002-10-15

I have been going to school more or less continuously since 1979. I think I passed "burn-out" ten years ago. I don't have words to describe the pain and dread that I feel at going to another class period.

I've started changing my clothes after work. There is a very slight chance that I will associate wearing jeans with fun, and therefore going to class will be fun. I've also started writing with a pink pen at class (again, the fun thing). I don't think that either of these tactics are working. What's worse, I have 7 months to go until I am done.

I am taking networks (a surprisingly good class) and software maintenance this semester. Software maintenance is so boring that I have completely tuned out every lecture (and I've never missed one). The mid-term is on Thursday and I have yet to pick up the book. This isn't as bad as it seems, in fact it is my grad. school norm. This works out not because I am intelligent in any way, but because the classes are so stupid and my hold on the English language is so far superior to that of my classmates that I can get A's without trying. Sure, there are those that would castigate me for not appreciating learning in it's own right but I just don't have it in me anymore.

The spring schedule was just released. I have taken almost all of the classes that are being offered already. I could take development for the internet but, since that is what I do all day at work, it would probably cause permanent brain damage if I had to do it at night. There is a class called "advanced topics in information management". It's part of the weekend college, so it will mean going to school Friday nights and Saturdays. The trade off is that I would be done with that class at the end of March (tempting).

In other news, I went for the second tattoo removal session. This time I did the anesthesia correctly, but I still had to get lidocaine shots on my lower back. I'm a bloody mess right now. I wore what amounts to black sweatpants (those ones made of t-shirt material with no elastic at the ankle) to work today. I was almost daring someone to say something to me but no one did.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook