that Gibson sense of humor

2002-10-14

One of Leo's favorite things to do is to announce, in a large group of people, that he taught me how to read. He finds this hilarious. I have yet to think of a witty come back to this, and generally I just turn bright red. The best occasions are when people are shocked. The most insulting are when people do not appear to be shocked, as if they knew of my illiteracy all along. I then scream that Leo did not teach me how to read. Then Leo comes back by telling people that he taught me how to read without moving my lips (also not true).

I felt compelled to tell this to Leo's family at dinner last night. His mom told me about something similar that her father used to do.

The whole family would go on walks in the evening. The mother would stop, seven kids in tow, at a jewelry store window to admire the rings. The father would then announce, in front of any and all passers-by, that he was not, under any circumstances going to marry her.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook