One of the Many Great Things About Leo!

2002-09-24

I had a rough night last night. I was paged for a support issue during my networks class. It took a full half hour to resolve, when I got back to the lecture, the professor said something like "and that's why knowing the capacity of C-140 cables is critical to business network applications". Great. The professor was ready to let us go, except that one of the students kept asking incredibly complicated questions. He did this for around 45 minutes. I was stressed out by the support call and simply by dealing with the subject of IT for 13 hours straight. Plus, I knew that Leo was coming over to watch the Civil War on PBS.

I came home to a warm Leo and a cold beer. We watched the show and Leo petted my head for an hour. It was great. This morning I was thinking about just how damn great Leo is. A week ago Sunday I got a flat tire. Leo had already gotten up at the crack of dawn to do this diabetes research fund walk for my work and then we drove across town to attend mass at my church. Then I got a flat tire at lunch. Without hesitation, he stripped off his shirt, laid down in a puddle, and proceeded to jack up my car to change the tire. To make this even more amazing, Leo has never changed a tire before. Many people in Leo's position would have shrugged their shoulders and called a service station. Or complained.

Last year, when my mother was in Italy, Leo mowed her lawn. He had never mowed a lawn before, and was told as a child that if he ever touched a lawnmower, he would cut off his own toes. Plus, my mother has a huge lawn.

I have a "some assembly required" type bookcase that needs putting together, and Leo volunteered to drill the holes. He had never held a drill before.

I don't want to make him sound sheltered, because he isn't. He was busy doing his book-learnin' while others might have been picking up skills like that. (a short aside - it does still get me that, for all of his fancy law school, he still can't answer complicated Law & Order questions or tell me what time my lunch break will be when I'm at jury duty) I love the fact that, even if he doesn't know how to do something, he'll always make an effort to help without batting an eyelash. He never says anything like "well, I don't know how to do that, you're on your own". I love that fact about him.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook