now spell Christmas...

2002-09-13

Most every year, on Christmas day, my family would begin a road trip. Sometimes it was to North Carolina or Kansas City to see my grandparents, other times it was Georgia or once it was Williamsburg. The timing of these trips had a lot to do with the automotive industry shutdown between Christmas and New Years. My parents, not wanting to waste one precious day of the vacation, always wanted to get a head start.

We would unwrap our presents at home, then pile into the car with our favorite new toys and plenty of candy. My sister and I would usually sit in the very back of our full size Econoline Ford van and consume all of the candy we could. To this day, I just can't see one of those Astro Pop suckers (the rainbow cone shaped ones) without visualizing automotive carpet stuck to it. My sister always brought her Speak & Spell and I can hear it's voice just thinking of it.

One year, my mother bought us fake Barbie dolls, except instead of a human head, they had cow's heads (Shannon, that one's for you). They were very disturbing. My mom thought they were great because they were not as thin as Barbie. I'm pretty sure that the cow head undid any positive effects on our self-image that the body type may have had. Anyway, Ken didn't find them very attractive and that was pretty much the end of that.

There was a set soundtrack to our Christmas trips. Gordon Lightfoot, the Mammas and the Pappas, Donovan, an album that was a compilation of classic rock songs about trains (!), and Neil Diamond. This last one is what got me started thinking about all of this. I have just purchased "The Neil Diamond Collection" to listen to at work. Sweet Caroline brings it all back. If only I had an astro pop with carpet fuzz on it.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook