you make my head hurt, Mr. Roesler

2002-09-05

I have had a horrible day!

I was so happy when I got up this morning, until I realized it wasn't Friday yet. Also, I filled up my water bottle from the refrigerated drinking fountain, doused my left breast with water accidentally, lost one contact, and was immediately introduced to a new employee. I couldn't shake his hand as my contact was in it. I make such a great first impression.

Then my boss come over to yell at me because I haven't done a project that has yet to be defined. Unfortunately, this happens all of the time. Customers will come to you and say something like "will you build me a purchasing system for office supplies" and they expect that to be enough direction. You wouldn't go to an architect and say "will you build me a ranch-style house?" because there is obviously more direction needed. You also would not expect the architect to keep building houses until he built one you like. Computer Programming is a lot like trying to keep a toddler happy. You end up making countless suggestions because the toddlers, or users, are too stupid to articulate what the hell it is that they want in the first place.

So I'm going to hold up a launch because I haven't done something, but I still don't know what it is.

37 more years until retirement.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook