the highs and lows in the life of a cholderby

2002-09-03

What a weekend.

On Friday, the D.C. contingent rolled into town. We met up at the Majestic then had a get together at Carleton's. It was so much fun to see everyone.

Saturday's craziness really got going after I finished watching Black Hawk Down. I believe that Leo ordered that movie, but I ended up watching it and it was pretty darn good. When the dvd ended, I just turned on the tv and started getting ready to go out. I walked passed the tv and I saw a Quality Dairy on the screen. QD is a mid-Michigan version of 7-11. So, I figured out that they were talking about Lansing. Then I saw a guy that has that horrible haircut with long hair on top and shaved underneath (I believe it was named the official haircut of 1993).

The show was about forensic medicine. I was pretty interested in it after they showed a picture of the Monty house in E. Lansing and I confirmed that they were discussing the 1992 - 93 school year. It turns out that the killer on the show is someone that I've met! He killed his girlfriend, chopped her up, ate a piece of her (with mustard on a cracker), and burned her! He was caught 2.5 years after doing this, and I'm pretty sure that I met him after the murder. Crazy. I also think that it's interesting to note that this was not one of the many shady Detroiters that I've known, but a suburban kid from Lansing. Also, let me clarify (this is for you, Gibson): I met this guy once. He is not a "friend" of mine, you can't tease me about hanging out with murderers as there was only one (at least only one that I know about) and I only met him once.

On Sunday I had to meet my dad and step-mutant for dinner. I was pretty sure that it wasn't possible for her to look any less attractive, but she pulled back the top most inch-wide strip of her Roger Daltry shag hairdo to give herself a reverse mohawk. Also, she's given up makeup and looks like an over-risen bread dough sculpture of Mr. McGoo. She is also now pretending to have diabetes. They give me hyper-tension.

On Monday I said goodbye to Shannon as she headed off to Ireland. She willed me her exercise videos and scale (I've lost 8 pounds).

Oh, how sad (about Shannon, not the weight loss). Plus Gibson still isn't back. Plus, I managed to completely avoid working on my paper.

I really want to go to the Beaujolais Nouveau party at the Ritz. It's on Thursday November 21 from 6 - 8. I went last year and it was spectacular! The tickets are $50 and that includes all the wines you can sample (there will be hundreds) and lots and lots of really good food. You should come with. I have to by tickets soon as it always sells out early. Let me know if you're interested.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook