my new obsession with saints

2002-08-30

I recently became fascinated by saints.� Obviously, Presbyterians don't acknowledge saints, so this whole aspect of Catholicism is that much more intriguing to me.

I also find it fascinating because I don't really understand it.� I agree that we can learn a lot by studying stories of great Christians, just as a golfer would learn something by learning more about great golfers.� I don't understand patron saints.� True, some patrons saints have an obvious connection to their patronage (St. Francis of Assisi to naturalists or Henry of Finland to Finland, for example).� But there's others I don't understand, and that makes them that much more interesting.� There's also patron saints for some very bizarre patronages.

Arms dealers Adrian of Nicomedia
Cattle Roch
Charcoal-burners Alexander the charcoal-burner
Colic Erasmus (Elmo)
Dog bites Ubald
Falling Venantius
Geese Martin of Tours
Hemorrhoid sufferers Fiacre
Health inspectors Raphael the Archangel
Hydrophobia, or rabies Hubert, Ubald
Jumping Venantius
Neighborhood watch Sebastian
Spas John the Baptist
Sportsmen and women, Belgian Mary, Our Lady of Chevremont
Tourism, Spanish Francis Xavier
Veneral disease Fiacre
Young people, Lithuanian Casimir

Poor Fiacre.� He's always associated with rather unpleasant things, but I have no idea why.�

I also read about St. Perpetua.� She was a martyred as a cathecumanate, by the Romans and sacrificed in an arena.� Her brother died at the age of seven of facial gangrene, which must be one of the worst things to die of.� He became so deformed that he was denied care by his loved ones.� Perpetua and Felicity were stripped in the arena and made to fend off a rabid heifer (!).� They died by having there throats cut (by a Roman, not by the heifer).

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook