An Open Letter to
Johnson & Johnson, Bandage Division

2002-08-28

I have just one question for you, Johnson & Johnson:

If you put the non-stick wrapping on both sides of the bandage, how are you supposed to tape it on?

You see, I have recently had 10% of my skin burned of with a laser (no, it wasn't a Buck Rogers ray-gun fight). The doctors specifically told me to buy non-stick bandages. They stressed this quite a bit. I have had a lot of trouble finding non-stick bandages in large sizes, so I have to tape the small ones together. But I can't do that, because the non-stick surface prevents the tape from adhering.

So, how are these bandages intended to be used? What did your bandage engineering group have in mind when they decided to coat both sides?  I just can't seem to fathom a situation in which a wound would exist on both sides of the bandage.

Let me tell you of the real life pain and suffering caused by your poorly designed product.   I live alone, and because of that, I have to bandage my wounds by myself.  Two of the three wounds are one my back.  So you could imagine what it was like to try to tape a bandage to my back in the first place.  A little too far to any side, and you've stuck tape on to delicate, damaged skin.  So, I thought things were going awfully well when I managed to do that successfully.  And then I moved.  And the bandage fell away from the tape.

I had a different sort of a problem on my leg.  This one should be easy, as I can see it.  But the area is so large, that I have to tape three bandages together.  And there we go with the non-stick problem again.

This morning, as I was desperately trying to tape myself together and get to work on time, I nearly had a nervous breakdown.  Just when I thought that I had myself securely bandaged, just when I thought I couldn't use any more tape, just when I looked at myself in the mirror and could only see a child's paper-mache project, I realized that I had to move.  I had to put on my socks.  All three bandages fell of.

My plan for today is to simply sit very, very still.  Tomorrow I might try something like using bicycle shorts to hold on the leg bandage. My bandage need in ongoing, as I am planning to be burned by lasers every six to eight weeks for the next year or two.  So, please contact me at your earliest convenience.  I'd like to discuss your product design.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook