I'm Gettin Old and Tired in Herre

2002-08-05

I spent the weekend in New York. The flight took three times longer than expected in both directions. On the way back, we got diverted to Flint. I am so tired right now.

On Friday, we didn't get in until 1:30 am. Then we went to this cute and very small Irish bar near the hotel. On the way, we saw a drunk 18 year old passed out in a pool of vomit. The hotel was this very strange űber modern hotel targeted towards twenty-somethings.

On Saturday, we walked up and down Fifth Avenue. Then we had lunch with our friends, walked more, drank more, then walked and drank. Then day didn't end until Sunday morning. Leo ended up falling asleep in the bar, so he was the first to go. I left the Karaoke place at 4, but couldn't get to sleep until 7. All evening we had been singing "Hot in Herre", I think we listened to it at least 8 times. There was interpretive dancing, then we deconstructed the lyrics (Note to friends - It's "I gotta a friend with a pole in the basement", but I like bone better).  That song was, of course, racing through my head for the 3 hours I laid in bed.  I finally snapped at 7.  Gibson calmed me down while he pondered how long he would have with me before I had to be committed.

While I did indeed have fun, this weekend really made it apparent that I am too old for these shenanigans.  I just can't take the late nights, and I'd rather read or watch a movie then go out.  I also realized that I have almost no familiarity with popular music (making karaoke challenging).  This is not a regret, but an acknowledgement of my passing from one stage to the next.  I was never much of a hipster anyway, plus this is much less expensive.

Because we didn't get home until 11, I am still very, very tired.  I think I'll just lay my head on the keyboard for just a minute.  ttttttttttttttttttttttttttyyyyyyyyyyytttttttttttttttttu gyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook