searching for proof in the Italian desert

2002-07-16

I had the strangest dream last night.

My mother, sister and I were on a driving trip through Italy, except it was a desert. I was driving (strange in itself) and began ascending a mountain. The mountain look like the one in the Road Runner cartoons, except it was very real. The path was winding and the driving surface was rather narrow. I was a little scared, but not as much as I would be if I were to really drive up a mountain on a cliff. I parked the car on a cliff the exact same size as it, plus a foot or two. The car was tan and foreign, unlike anything I've ever driven.

The foot path was winding and crowded. At one point, the line snaked around a horseshoe approximately 50 feet above my car. A small rockslide started below us. Right when that was over (no one was hurt, it was off to the side) a man approached my car. He was about 50, with a grey beard. He was wearing black shorts and a white T-shirt with black and red designs on it. He laid his hands on my car and started to rock it. He called out and two pre-teen boys helped him. I was screaming at the top of my lungs "Stay away from my car! Stop!" but he either couldn't hear me or was pretending not to. Eventually, they flipped my car off of the cliff.

I ran down to the spot but couldn't recover anything. My car, clothes, purchases, everything was gone. I tried to stop the man to find out his name. I had to get a policeman, but I was half way up a mountain in the (Italian) desert. The man would not give me his name, and the witnesses could not understand me. Approximately 300 people had seen this happen, but I could not get the name of a single witness. There was nothing I could do. I filed a suit for $500,000 anyway.

Leo has informed me that, in Europe, there is no such thing as a claim for emotional damage. I certainly felt emotionally damaged, but those damn desert-dwelling Italians were having no part of it.

I've decided that this dream was about my fear that I will not be granted an annulment. So many people witnessed what happened, but how do you prove what happened?

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook