Results (I'm sure you're dying to know)

2002-07-08

And the 2002 World Pastry Championship winners are...

Gold Medal: Team USA
(Jean-Philippe Maury, Laurent Branlard, Jean-Claude Canestrier)
(Just a trio of American boys...)

Silver Medal: Team France
(Nicolas Boussin, Alexandre Gye-Jacquot, Stephane Treand)

Bronze Medal: Team Belgium
(Philippe Rheau, Stephane Leroux, Jean-Philippe Darcis)

Best Chocolate Showpiece: Team Belgium
(Philippe Rheau, Stephane Leroux, Jean-Philippe Darcis)

Best Sugar Showpiece: Team Japan
(Kanjiro Mochizuki, Tatsuya Kijima, Shinsuke Nakajima)

Best Sportsmanship Award: Team Switzerland
(Giuliano Sargenti, Jean-Marc Touya, Paolo Lorashi)

One of these guys lost feeling in his hand a month ago, needed surgery, but wore a cast instead.  He removed the cast for the competition, then flew back to Switzerland last night for surgery.

Back from Vegas. It was fun, but I'm so happy to be home! I met such interesting people while I was there. I won $50 at a slot machine, I saw Penn & Teller, the Blue Man group and Ronn Lucas (a ventriloquist). Penn & Teller were disappointing, I'm glad the ticket was free. Blue Man Group was the greatest show I have ever seen. If you ever get a chance, go see it. I thought it was going to be Stomp in blue makeup, but it was wonderful.

 

The Lowest and Highest points of my trip:

Low: Being slapped on the ass by the Dutch Team Manager

High: When the Dutch Team Manager broke their sugar showpiece five minutes after slapping me.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook