Fear, Loathing, and Competitive Eclair Making in Las Vegas

2002-07-03

Tonight I leave for Las Vegas.

I've never been there before. Everyone keeps telling me how great it is, I can only think of the temperatures. It will be between 104 and 108 the whole time I'm there. My Howdy Doody-itis has grown particularly acute of late, I expect to be one large freckle with arms by this time next week. I really don't want to go, but maybe I'll like it once I'm there. It just seems like such a shame to waste a four day weekend without Leo, especially since he will be working 160 hours a week starting in September. Plus, with only my father and step-monster, I imagine that I will quickly revert to the hellish childhood I never had:

    "Daa-aad, I need more money for booze and gambling!"

    "Not now honey, we have to go stuff our faces with pastries then watch a female impersonator show"

I will be taking my laptop. I plan on doing some Hunter Thompson meets Martha Stewart style blow-by-blow pastry championship reporting. Hold on to your petit fours kids, it's going to be a wild ride.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook