deep fried goodness

2002-06-26

When it comes time to meet my maker, I hope that I'm given notice. There's some great ways to go where you don't have any notice, like when Tiny Tim finished "Tip Toe Through the Tulips", the crowd went wild, then he fell over dead. Then there's the classic "pass away in your sleep", too. I want to know about six weeks ahead of time so that I can spend my last days with my true love: deep fried food.

There's so many promising deep fried recipes that I've seen lately. The "Tempura Battered Deep Fried Candy Bar" has been making the rounds through the white trash recipe circles. Can't you just imagine? The crisp batter with just a hint of salt, the warm, melted chocolate, the caramel, still soft from the cooking�

I've also seen a deep fried macaroni and cheese recipe. This mac and cheese uses the best cheese and a baked custard style (not stove top) sauce. It is cut into squares, crumb coated, then deep fried. When I get the sign that my time is up, those are the first two that I'm trying.

I've actually tried some good ones, too. Last spring I had a piece of tempura battered cheesecake finished with a shot of frangelico. I unintentionally ate it all myself and then dirtied my boyfriend's fork to cover it up. I love deep fried bananas also, and then there's elephant ears! We're coming up on elephant ear season now. The last time I had one, the same, dear, fat-phobic boyfriend watched me and shuttered; I eventually had to turn around. I bought it at the city fair from a kiosk. The vendor applied the butter (or should I say butter flavored palm oil?) to the dough with a 2" wide paint brush. Mmmmm�

I will be at the Chicago Taste Festival this weekend. Last year I tried the only bad deep fried food I've ever had, possibly the only one in existence. It was a crumb coated deep fried dill pickle spear. It was still warm from the fryer, and exactly as bad tasting as you would imagine.

<< - >>

1 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook