focus on the trivial

2002-06-19

I'm so glad that my life has settled down enough that I can once again focus on the trivial.

I was just thinking this morning about what someone would think if they saw the inside of my purse. Like if I was involved in a crime and the purse was evidence. I think the strangest thing in there is a die (as in singular of dice) left over from a bridal shower last week. What would the crime scene team make out of that? Hard core gambler? Indecisive fatalist?

Then there's the ever present floppy disk with software management papers I have yet to finish (this can only say "big nerd"). I have a very unflattering Polaroid of my boyfriend and myself (I can just picture a cop saying "We're looking for a red head, bloated, smack addict and her button-down boyfriend").

Then there's the point about my purse weighing ten pounds (it almost took out my boyfriends grandmother last time I saw her during a hug). I have a beautiful wallet that I was given as a graduation present. It has an attached change purse, but the leather has come away from the hinge, so the contents regularly fall out. There's so much stuff in there that I can't see the bottom and change just keeps accumulating. At the very least, carrying a ten pound purse is probably the only exercise I get.

I have a ziploc baggy full of nondescript brown pills. These are really off-brand ibuprofen, but they look awfully suspicious. I think I got this from my mother, who is a big fan of suspicious items in ziploc bags. She lives next to a DEA agent, and she always worries about what he would think if he saw the baggy of dried basil, or even salt, on the counter. It is, of course, rather unlikely that my mother would be investigated for drug running, but the idea is amusing.

I also have a large amount of wadded up receipts. Truly, it is time to clean it out. Now that I have been drama free for a week, I guess I have time. Maybe I can just dump it upside down in one of those grocery store change counting machines.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook