ennui

2002-05-14

Someone famous (I've forgotten who, exactly) once said that "any fool can handle a crisis, it's the day-to-day living that presents a challenge". How true that is.

I have been wondering lately why all of my sister's friends are in perfectly normal and happy relationships while my friends and myself seems to always find ourselves in ones that are much less than normal. I was talking about that with Wendy, who has the most normal relationship of all of my friends (of course, she is married to a formerly gay, ex-Soviet ballroom dance champion, but like I said, it's the most normal of the group). Wendy pointed out what should be obvious, my sister's friends are all "normal" people who crave "normal" lives. They are not boring people by any means, but they do fall within the margin of error surrounding "normal".

I get bored with stable day-to-day living. I would guess that the same holds true for the people I know. That's not to say that any of us really leads an "alternative lifestyle", or anything. I have a job, I go to school, I date members of the opposite sex. It's kind of boring, really. I guess that's why, consciously or unconsciously, I crave just a little bit of drama to keep things interesting. I think I lack the endurance and attention span to spend a day similar to the one before. I know that there are people who love the security of just that sort of thing. I'm just a little bit envious of them.

<< - >>

0 comments so far

New Old Profile Host Guestbook